Best FIFA Football Awards 2019: Lionel Messi defeats Ronaldo, Van Dijk, wins FIFA Men’s Player

Felix M. Okoye

Lionel Messi has been crowned winner of the FIFA Men’s Player award 2019, beating Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool’s Van Dijk to the award in a colorful ceremony held in Milan.

The 2019 edition of the FIFA Football Awards was held on Monday, September 23, at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan, Italy.

Messi, Ronaldo and van Dijk headlined the awards, with the trio battling it out for the prestigious top prize in the men’s category.

The three had also made the shortlist for the the UEFA player of the year award, with Van Dijk pipping Messi and Ronaldo to the award.

However, Messi emerged winner in Milan beating van Dijk who was the bookies’ slight favourite owing to his stunning season for Barcelona that saw him rack up half a century of goals.

The Argentine talisman also made the FIFPro Men’s World XI, that also included Alisson Becker, Ronaldo, Modric, Hazard and Mbappe.

Liverpool were arguably the biggest winners at the awards following their 2018/19 Champions League heroics that saw them lift the coveted European title after seeing off Tottenham in the finals played in Madrid.

Jurgen Klopp beat Pep Guardiola and Mauricio Pochettino to win the Best FIFA Men’s Coach, with Alisson Becker beating off competition from Ederson and Marc-Andre ter Stegen to claim the Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award.

Below is a list of all the nominees and winners at the awards: The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Below is a list of all the nominees and winners at the awards:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal/Juventus

Lionel Messi, Argentina/Barcelona – winner

Virgil van Dijk, Netherlands/Liverpool

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper:

Alisson Becker, Brazil/Liverpool – winner

Ederson, Brazil/Manchester City

Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Germany/Barcelona

The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

Lucy Bronze, England/Olympique Lyonnais

Feminin Alex Morgan, USA/Orlando

Pride Megan Rapinoe, USA/Reign FC – winner

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach:

Jill Ellis, USA national team – winner

Phil Neville, England national team

Sarina Wiegman, Netherlands

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper

Christiane Endler, Chile/Paris Saint-Germain

Hedvig Lindahl, Sweden/Chelsea/VfL

Wolfsburg Sari van Veenendaal, Netherlands/Arsenal/AtlΓ©tico Madrid – winner

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:

Pep Guardiola, Spain/Manchester City

Jurgen Klopp, Germany/Liverpool – winner

Mauricio Pochettino, Argentina/Tottenham Hotspur

FIFA Puskas Award:

Lionel Messi (Argentina): Real Betis v. FC Barcelona (La Liga, 17 March 2019)

Juan Fernando Quintero (Colombia): River Plate v. Racing Club (Superliga Argentina, 10 February 2019)

Daniel Zsori (Hungary): Debrecen FC v Ferencvaros TC (Hungarian First Division, 16 February 2019) – winner

Next Post

Wow! See beautiful mother of BBNaija 2019 housemate, Mike

306 […]